Role Control

You’ll use Tina admin features to define roles so you can grant permission to groups of people to do things like find, view and edit documents and files in Tina.

The roles that you create will typically reflect the way your work is organized at your company. The roles you define will likely mirror your organizational structure (HR, Finance or Engineering), functional disciplines (Engineer, Designer or Analyst) or anything you choose. Once you have defined roles, you can assign users to them – users can be assigned to multiple roles.

User Control

As people come and go, you’ll use Tina admin features to add new Tina users and deactivate the accounts of those who leave. As your business changes, you’ll add and remove users to and from the roles you have created. If a user forgets their password, and they can’t reset it themselves, you’ll be able to reset it for them.

From a security perspective if you suspect that a user’s account has been compromised, you can lock it to temporarily block access. If your workers have government security or other clearances that limit access to sensitive documents, you’ll configure their user account to reflect their individual clearances.

You’ll use Tina’s admin features to approve (or reject) the use of TinaSync on all user’s devices. If their device is lost or stolen, you’ll select their device for ‘wipe’ – the next time it comes on line, all files and documents will be automatically deleted.

Document Categories

Setting up, maintaining and assigning document categories to your documents and files is required so that you can find them and control access. Every business is different – you’ll use Tina’s admin features to create your own unique document categories and organize them hierarchically. You can set up default security settings for each category and specify applicable the roles, users and access levels (see ACLs). When a user creates a new document or file and categorizes it, the default security settings for that category are automatically applied. If there are categories of documents whose distribution is governed by contract or regulation, you can also create an attribute and apply it to that category.

You can configure child categories to inherit the default security settings of their parent category. If you change the parent settings, the new settings automatically flow down to the children categories. Any documents and files in Tina of that category will automatically be updated to reflect the change.

Access Control Levels

Access Control Levels (ACLs) define what can or can’t be done by individual users or roles. Tina provides you with four standard ACLs (Consumer, Contributor, Owner and Administrator) whose permissions are pre-configured to meet the needs of most businesses. You’ll use Tina’s admin features to modify these settings to refine the out of the box settings.

Security Attributes

You’ll use Tina’s admin features to define and manage security attributes which are used to ensure that only certified or qualified users can find and access sensitive documents and files. Once you’ve created an attribute, you’ll apply it to each user based on their certification or qualification levels. If the user attribute matches the document attribute, the user will be able to find and access it, otherwise it will be invisible to them.